Running Fail

I went running today, on week 2 of the couch to 5k.

Felt really good as the weather had just brightened up when I left my flat. First interval went well, felt really natural and slipped into the jogging easily. For the last 30 seconds I was struggling, I have a bit of a phlegmy chest at the moment so breathing was hard and my ankles were not very happy. I was wearing my ankle support, but my other ankle felt like it was straining. by the second interval both of my ankles were sore and I was jogging unbelievably slowly to catch my breath.

I got to the half way point, and I had to stop. My ankles were sore, and my breathing was awful. Once I had rested, rehydrated and recovered a bit, I walked the rest of the way back. I walked with a brisk pace and went a slightly longer route back to compensate for not jogging for any of it.

Maybe I’ll drop back to week 1 of the C25K programme the next time I go out to run.

2 thoughts on “Running Fail

  1. Sorry! I did that program last year, and sometimes would stay on the same day for several days in a row. Especially when the running stretches went for 5min +! You might find that once you kick your cold you can pick up where you left off.

Leave a Reply

