Personal Training Session

My gym membership came with an unexpected bonus – a free personal training session. Yay

I had this today, after work. felt a bit awkward about it, but she did a lot of good stuff with me, and we looked at how much I could lift on the different free weights and resistance machines. We did some cardio as well, and improving stamina. (She got me to jog on the treadmill, and I was already pretty wiped from all of the other things we had done!). The session was more to look at what I want to improve and what exercises/machines would achieve that.

OK, so I cant remember everything we did…but I’ve listed what I can remember!

  • Warm up: 5 mins on the cross-trainer, on level 5 (this can be whatever resistance you are comfortable with, something that isn’t too strenuous, but you can feel)
  • Stretches! VERY important of course. stretch everything from head to toe, and why not throw in some yoga poses!
  • Cable Pull downs, 6.5kg, 8-10 x 3 (I don’t know the correct terms for these, so forgive me if I am wrong!)
  • Cable row, 9kg, 8-10 x 3.
  • Free weights: Leg Press, 10kg each side, 8-10 x 3
  • Free weights: Chest Press, 5kg each side, 8-10 x3
  • Swiss ball squats: 4kg, squat and hold for 10 seconds x 3
  • Walking lunges: 3kg, lunge across studio and back 3-4 times
  • Resistance machines: Abs, 10kg 8-10 x 3
  • Resistance machines: Triceps (pushing away action. Elbows rest on pad, arms push away) approx. 5-7.5kg
  • Resistance machines: Leg lift (sat down, ankles hooked under roll cushion, lift legs) approx 10kg
  • Resistance machine: Backwards leg lift (laid down on front, ankles hooked under roll cushion, lift legs) approx 10kg
  • The Plank… 3 x 10 second intervals. Increase this as you get better!
  • Treadmill: 8.5% incline, 4.5mph; a brisk walk up an incline. After 5 mins or so, switch to 0% incline, and a jogging speed. I was on 6.5mph. This was a very light jog, and I was knackered! ran for about 3-4mins before stopping. (I got a stitch and needed water. No water bottle! Have been instructed to bring bottle next time)

After this, we had a chat about nutrition and she gave me some info on this with meal plan suggestions. We didn’t do the whole workout today, I did minimum 1 set of each, but the whole shebang on the squats, lunges and plank. The idea of this plan is to increase the reps to 15-20, and increase the weights being lifted. This will up both endurance and strength. It’s a flexible plan, for example I don’t have to do all of my sets at once, I could machine jump and do the next set after a different set. I like it. It’s encouraged me to use more of the machines and to get more involved in pushing myself to improve the weight I’m lifting.

I have a feeling I may end up a lifting loony like my bestest bud, RoanRider . Maybe. Maybe not. 

I have another session booked with my PT in the beginning of February. This one is not free, however I am going to give it a go to see if I feel it’s worth sticking with a PT, or going it alone (with some help from the internet…)

Happy Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

