Ben Nevis Training Hike #2

On Sunday the BN crew went for another hike, through a lovely rural country park. I have an admission to make. There may have been an incident in training hike #1 in which I slipped in the mud. And just as H said the first one to fall buys lunch, and A calls H to tell him something, lo and behold it happens again. Butt splat. 2-0 to mud. I can’t even pretend it didn’t happen like last week, everyone saw.

image

Summary:
Location: Lullingstone Country Park
Trail type: Woodland & field
Distance: 6.2 km
Time: 1h 52m
Av pace: 18:04min/km

We did stop often to take pictures, so we were probably walking faster than that overall.

This course was hilly, muddy, and beautiful to look at. It goes through a golf course and past a roman villa, and a castle. Albeit a small Castle but there we go. I found this walk difficult because it was hilly-which doesn’t bode well for Ben Nevis. The one before was hilly too, but I’m inclined to think this was hillier. Incline. Get it? I need to get out more. And work harder at the gym. I used my hydration pack for the first time, I did wash it out before using it, but the water still tasted like plasticy chlorine. More cleaning is to be done I think.

Less than 4 weeks until we go, and I’m not going to lie, I’m a bit scared. Daunted. But also looking forward to it. Urg.

On a side note, clean eating is going well so far. Majorly craved ice cream yesterday, but didn’t have any.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

