Ben Nevis Training Hike #5

The final hike before we go!  Aaahhh!

It was my turn to plan this route, and I made sure it was a tough one.  In the aftermath of the walk I was kicking myself for doing this… a long trek is exactly what is needed to prepare for Ben Nevis.

Summary
Location : Shorne Wood Country Park
Trail type : Woodland / footpath / field
Distance : 15k
Time: 3h 49m
Average pace : 15 : 05m/km

image

This walk was very long. I Definitely regret not bringing energy food with me! The walk started really well, I had a walk guide to follow and I navigated us through woods and villages. It was really pleasant, cloudy but still nice to walk. We went through an old WW2 camp, with underground bunkers that were still there, we saw giant chestnut trees, Lots of feilds, and tried to make friends with some of the locals…(by that I mean horses! ) after a couple of hours walking I was feeling really drained and tired. It would have been much better had I brought some food…it didn’t help that it didn’t stay pleasant for very long, the weather was very changeable and we got caught in couple of downpours.

image

After the walk I had never been so happy to see a hot chocolate in my entire life as I was in that moment.

Next post will be aaall about Mr Ben Nevis. How exciting! Watch this space… But until then, here’s some pics from walk number 5!

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

4 thoughts on “Ben Nevis Training Hike #5

    • No problem at all! It’s a very good blogging platform. I also use blogger, take a look at it. I couldn’t decide between the two so have ended up with 2 blogs!

Leave a Reply

