Ben Nevis Itinerary. What do you take up a mountain?

I’ve never walked up a mountain before. Or hiked really long distances. I had to do a lot of research into what to bring, what to wear and how to stay safe on a mountain. It’s not exactly a subject I had ever given much thought to before… With my lack of experience in mind, I started writing copious lists of things I need to bring, and I decided to share this with you! You lucky devils…

My back pack contents:
Ben Nevis Backpack Itinerary
[x] Water pouch
[x] Exposure blanket
[x] Headtorch
[x] Kendle mint cake
[ ] Flapjacks
[ ] Nuts
[x] Camera
[ ] First aid kit
[x] She wee
[x] Hand sanitiser
[x] Tissues
[ ] Lunch
[x] Plastic food containers
[x] Utensils

My gear/clothing:
Ben Nevis
[x] Walking shoes
[x] Thermals
[x] Gaitors
[x] Waterproof jacket
[x] Hiking socks
[x] Walking trousers
[x] Sports bra
[x] Backpack
[x] Liner socks
[x] Blister stick
[x] Scarf
[x] Hat
[ ] Food
[x] Head tube
[x] Insoles

Shared from Google Keep
This is one of my favorite apps, endless to do lists!

As you can see not all of the items are ticked off yet, mainly the foods. I think the plan is to hit a supermarket the day before we go up to ready ourselves!
To put your minds at ease, the first aid kit was compiled the evening before going!

To generate these lists I Googled with a vengence, reading articles and guides on Ben Nevis. I also spoke to people who have experience in hiking (A being one of them) and most importantly, I used some common sense. All of these leave me feeling like I’ve covered all bases and am as prepared as I’ll ever be to go up BN.

Am I forgetting anything? Or is there anything else you would have brought that I haven’t listed? I’d love to hear some feedback 🙂

P.s. HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE!

Leave a Reply

