Race For Life Training Week #1

In the past week I got 3 running sessions in. Quite proud of myself for that because I struggle with keeping up the motivation to go running. To get myself into 5k shape im using the NHS Couch to 5k podcast – I’ve used this before and found that it did help me to build up how far I could run, until I lost all motivation to run of course.

image

Run #1: week 1 of C25K – morning run – did not go well. My ankles were a major problem, they became all seized up and stiff the longer I ran. As a result of this, I only made it half way through the programme and walked for the rest of the time. At least I got out there and did half…

Run #2: week 1 of C25K – evening run – went amazingly well. I felt invincible and was smiling to myself while running. No idea why this run was so good, I just felt awesome. After this run I felt able to move to C25K week 2 early. The programme recommends completing each weeek 3 times bedore moving on.

Run #3: week 2 of C25K – morning run – had to make my route a little longer this time as I was running for longer lengths of time, and therefore getting further. The run went really well. It was hard, and my ankles were killing me, but I did all of the podcast. Yay.

So for week 1 of training, not bad. Not bad at all. I’m hoping for another good week this week!

I have some more exciting news. You may have noticed in previous posts that I’ve hinted at something pretty muddy coming up…well, me and two of my girlfriends have signed up for cancer research’s Pretty Muddy event – a 5k obstacle course for ladies. This is happening in July, a month after my work race for life 5k. I have got a lot of training to do!

 

http://www.justgiving.com/Bexiblueberry

http://www.justgiving.com/the-breast-ones

 

Leave a Reply

