The Ben Nevis Chronicles : The Aftermath

It’s been a while since I wrote about BN, I feel out of the habit of it and hadn’t jumped back into it for a while. So it’s about damn time!

At the end of the last post I had fallen down the mountain and been rescued by Hux bravely catching me and playing  roll down the hill. I mean mountain. After that exciting event, we continued back down the mountain. Our progress was good, of you take into account we were all exhausted and two of us were limping (Me on my ankle, and Hux on his knee). We eventually reached the snowy ridge again, and I was practically having a panic attack about having to walk on snow again, with risk of death by falling. More of the snow had melted, so there was now 2 huge holes exposing the side of the mountain, which were definitely big enough to fall through. Enter deep breathing relaxation techniques... made it across and felt the after effects of the stress for sure.

image

At this point all I wanted was to be back in the cabin snuggled up in my pj’s. Unfortunately I still had several hours of walking ahead of me. I was a absolute grump on the way down, though the closer down we got, the happier I felt. Despite my thighs of thunder screaming in protest every time I needed to bend them more than normal. For example to step down a step/rock. Of which there were alot. All the time.

When we reached the bench, I was in much higher spirits and we had made friends with some rams who were populating the mountain.

image

I could see the cabin, I knew we weren’t far away now. As we drew closer to the bottom, it became more of a race. Hux and Kay had been racing more or less the whole time, while Andrew stayed back with me because I’m slow. Such a gent. Though, as the path was tapering off to flat ground, Andrew got his stride on and caught up to them both. And overtook. Which, of course, ended up in a race to the bridge between him and Kayleigh. Kayleigh won. Woo girl power! Instead of going to the top of the fence climb over thing (it was like a sty but with two platforms rather than bits of wood) Kay climbed over on the lower platform, while andrew was on the upper, and got ahead of him. It was briliant! Hux and I followed after at a much slower pace, enjoying the flat road as much as possible. After we had finally got to the cabin, I promptly resolved to never go up a mountain ever again.

image

Never again!

Over the next few days we all discussed it, and decided we would come back next year-when there’s less snow-and try to reach the top. I agreed, the horror of the mountain fading quickly in light of the exhultation at having gone up it. Though I did tell myself that next time, I’ll be ready.

Leave a Reply

