Bro’, Do You Even Lift?

I’ve never done weightlifting before. Ever. After hearing miss Pips go on about it (I kid, I love hearing about it really) I have been thinking about giving it a go for a while. Problem is, I have no idea what I’m doing, or how to start. Enter Mr Scott. I practically bugged him until he said yes to helping me out on this. Luckilly it didnt take much bugging at all… so we joined forces and headed to the gym.

Leg Day
Those dreaded words. Unfortunately for me, Scott remembered that I have quite strong legs. From our school days. There was a lot of walking up hills to get home. So he was quite happily pushing me further than perhaps others would have…

We started with warming up on the cross trainer, then moved over to the bench press. I’m aware this isn’t legs, Scott was showing me how to do it properly. So we did:

Bench press: bar only 1 x 5
10kg 3 x 5

Deadlifts were next. I’ve heard a lot about these from Pip, and have been wondering about doing them ever since. Scott taght me the movement with proper form, then we jumped in at 10 kg on the bar. This was okay, heavy but I could do it. Then we moved to 20kg. Really heavy. Kind of felt like my arms were going to dislocate…
This is what I did:

Deadlifts: bar only 1 x 5
10kg 1 x 5
20kg 2 x 5

This was followed by squats. You put the bar across the top of your back, and squat really low. Did I mention the bar on its own is quite heavy? We ran through correct form and hand placement, did a set, then added plates. Working from 20 kg up to 80kg. Scott lied and said the 80 was just for him, then made me do it. Without a pad because I need to ‘man up’. Yupp thats going to bruise across my back…
This is what we did:

Squats: bar only 1 x 5
20kg 2 x 5
40kg 1 x 5
80kg 1 x 3

Moving onto leg press, we were both well aware that this would be my forte. We warmed up, then added weight.
This is what we did:

Leg press: no weight 1 x 5
40kg 1 x 8
80kg 1 x 5
120kg 1 x 5
160kg 1 x 5
I felt like a boss after doing that. It was akin to pressing my own and another persons body weight. So chuffed.

The next horrible, gruelling task was leg extensions. Scott was adamant that they would make me cry, and that he would rival the pain I was in after Ben Nevis. Well, he wasnt far off. The set is to go from tge highest weight possible, to the lightest, doing as many as possible until you literally can’t do any more at each weight. 7kgs never felt so heavy in my life. These were brutal. My legs were burning with effort, and I really thought I might cry. I didn’t, but it was close.

Leg extension:
Start at highest weight possible, go until failure
Work way up to lighest weight, working until failure at each level.
After the last set, hold the leg extension out for as long as possible

I thought that was the end. Unfortunately it wasn’t. We did the same thing on the leg press resistance machine. Not going to lie, my legs were not fit for movement afterwards.

Leg press resistance:
Start at highest weight possible, go until failure
Work way up to lighest weight, working until failure at each level. (In this one we skipped one level each time, so worked up to lightest weight by going to every other weight)
After the last set, hold the leg press out for as long as possible.

We were finally done, and had to navigate the stairs down to the exit. That in itself felt like a workout! Scott really pushed me in this session, and I found I could do more than my brain was telling me I could. I felt the ache in my legs all weekend, despite copious amounts of deep heat and protein!

Leave a Reply

