Race For Life Training Week #8

In case you were wondering, I am fully aware that I missed a week. Bad me! After my epic failure of a 20 minute run, I felt hesitant to get back out there. But after a busy week and realising the race was next week (eeeeek) I bucked up the courage to run again.

Run #16: week 5.1 of C25K – originally I had planned to jump back in at week 5.2, but I had a feeling I was being over ambitious. I was right, as the result of this run shows! To recap, this run is 5 mins running, 3 mins walking x 3. The first run I did 4 mins, then had to walk. The second run I got half way through and stopped for 1.5m, then started again, then stopped again. The final run I did the whole thing, and a tiny but extra at the end. With the final section I felt that I had got my stride back, and my breathing was under control. This was by far, not my best run. But, it also was not my worst. Not bad for over a week of not running!

Run #17: week 5.2 of C25K – thus run is 8 min run, 5 min walk x 2. Last time I did this I wasn’t really able to do much. This time I somehow managed to run for 8 minutes for the first time ever. how did that even happen?? By the end of the run I was rocking a powerful stitch and was still struggling to get rid of it by the time the next run came around. The second 8 minutes did not go well at all. I pretty much walked the whole of it…but to be honest, that’s okay because I really pushed to do the first one. Next time I’ll do better.

My Race for Life is next week, on the 11th. So next to no training time left, just 1 run to go until it’s the real thing. I know full well that I won’t be able to run the whole 5k. But I’m going to give it a shot and do my best. Because my best is all that I have to give.

Leave a Reply

