Personal Training 2.0 – The One with the Beard

My gym was offering a free hour session with the Personal Trainer, Beard Guy. So of course I decided to take him up on that. I had a chat with him last week and we discussed diet, slow burning carbs vs fast burning carbs, as well as my main goals (weight loss, stamina, strength). I always feel really akward talking to someone I dont know about stuff like this, especially on a one to one basis sat in an office. Akward. I was worried that I wasn’t coming across very well or expressing myself. Ohwell. He seemed to have enough to go on for our active session though so maybe it was ok…

Last night we did the active part of the session, and boy do I feel an ache this morning. A good kind of ache though, not too much, but enough to feel like I worked hard. We went through some weight lifting – BG explaining what would be better for goal 1 (weight loss) as opposed to going heavy, building strength and subsequently putting weight on. Less weight +more reps = fat burn and strength building.

We went through some supersets, which I haven’t really done before. Those were interesting…a bit difficult, but good.

Interval training on the cardio machines was discussed, it is more effective than long, slow training and keeps your body burning energy for 24h afterwards when at rest. Always a bonus, amiright?

My form during the movements was good, no major problems there. Yay me. And Scott for teaching me correctly…

Here’s the plan:
P.S. this plan was developed specifically for me and my abilities, please consult a PT if you want to do something similar.

Warm up:
Treadmill on 1% incline
5 mins, increase speed each min, last min should be a jog

Kinetic stretches – movements that stretch while moving.
Swing arms across body
Roll neck around
Circle hips
Knees up and across
Kick legs back
Etc

Weights:
Squats with barbell:
Warm up with bar first – 12 reps, fast
5-10kg – 6 x 12 reps – fast
This is optional, take out to stay within an hour workout

Deadlifts:
5kg – 6 x 15 reps – fast

Squat to shoulder press:
5kg (dbells-2.5 per side) – 45 second intervals

Calisthenics:
Spiderman crunch / mountain climbers:
Alternate between the two – fast

Supersets:
Chest press 21kg / Bicep curl 16.5kg
3 x 10 / 10 reps

Ab crunch machine 20kg / under and over 4kg (medicine ball or dumbell)
5 x 15 / 15 reps

Cardio:
Intervals:
Treadmill or cross trainer
20 mins if possible, 10 mins minimum

Warm down:
Treadmill on 10% incline, 5.0 speed
5 mins
Bring incline and speed down each minute

Static stretches

VoilĂ ! My plan. BG said it’s more of an advanced plan as I wasn’t afraid to try things and do the weights, so no need to start with the bar and build confidence. Which is good. I think having a PT would definitley benefit me, BG kept me focused and I worked harder because someone was there to push me. This month I’m mapping out my finances for next year, I’m hoping I can squeeze in some PT sessions…

Leave a Reply

