Race For Life 2015: Trail Run

I am currently in the Scottish Highlands! I have a wonderful view of Ben Nevis and the surrounding mountains, and there are lots of paths and trails around. Soo…I decided to take advantage of the trails and go for a run (a pre-meditated decision, I brought all my running gear up here…). I took the opportunity to test run my ‘Zombies, Run!’ app at the same time.

According to the app, I was out for a total of 33:25, and did 1.75km. (That really doesn’t sound like very far for that time…especially as the app said I ran 1k in approx. 10:30. Confuuused) I just checked online, and it looks like I lost GPS signal, or an error occurred, and therefore this data is incorrect!

So, my first Kilometer was approx 10:30, then I think I was slower after that as I walked the rest of the way. I did an ‘out and back’ route, so I ran back the way I had came. I hit 1k on the ‘out’ section, went a bit further, then turned around to come back. Therefore, total distance (based on a map) I think was 2.66k. which makes much more sense paired with a time of 33:25!

Okay, so correct best estimate of stats:

Total time: 33:25

Distance: 2.66k

I ran for a total of 3 1 minute sections. not very impressive, however, I ran into a spot of trouble. Skip over this bit if you don’t want to hear about digestive issues…

I needed the toilet. Badly. So I turned around and hustled back to the lodge…thankfully, I made it back in time! I hate – and occasionally like – that running has a laxative effect…

Anywho, I would have ran more if I hadn’t had to hurry back, so I was thinking that I would go out again this week. I really enjoyed running on a trial; dodging the tree roots, running alongside a river; startling a few sheep on the path along the way. It was good evening to be outside

2 thoughts on “Race For Life 2015: Trail Run

  1. I think every runner – no matter the distance they run – has experienced this 😉
    I’ve only done trail running once, but loved it too – we should hit the New Forest xx

Leave a Reply

