Race For Life 2015 – Post-Race

Yesterday I did Race for Life. It was a 5k route, and as you may already know, I walked it due to recovering from surgery. My goal was to walk the 5k in 1 hour.

I enjoyed the route more than I did last year. I found that because I was walking and not constantly thinking ‘I really should be running’ I had more time to enjoy the park. After the first 1k we came to the toilets, I needed to go so I left the crowd and got in the que. When I came out again, I found that I was behind everyone…All 2500 people. Excluding the few people who were in the toilet still. Myself and a lovely Scottish lady set off at the same pace, and accompanied each other around the rest of the race. We kept a really steady pace and overtook quite a few of the other walkers. (I felt quite pleased about that as I didn’t want to be last…)

I did feel like I wanted to run, but I held back and settled into walking it. I felt good, I had no problems with my wounds – kind of almost scars now – other than the waistband of my trousers irritating them a little bit. I’m hoping that means I can start doing more activities…

The last little stretch to the finish me and my companion jogged to the end, with her grandchildren cheering us on. The race clock said we finished at around 1h8m, but it did take a long time to get over the start line so I was sure I had reached my target…

Race Stats

Distance: 5.2 kilometres
Race clock time: 1:08:00
Actual time: 56:25

race for life route

race for life stats

Race for Life Battersea 2015

Finished!

 

I had a really good time, and to top it all off…at the start of the race I bumped into Julie Creffield who runs the website & blog The Fat Girls Guide To Running – I may have fangirled a bit!!! I also crossed paths with her during the run 🙂 🙂 Meeting Julie really topped off my evening!

2 thoughts on “Race For Life 2015 – Post-Race

Leave a Reply

